This is the "Economics, Business & Finance" page of the "Empirical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fordham University Law Library
This guide will provide resources for empirical legal research including information on data sets and statistical packages.
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.lawnet.fordham.edu/empiricalresearchguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Economics, Business & Finance Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

United States

  • Bankruptcy Research Database: data on all large, public bankruptcy actions filed in the United States Bankruptcy Courts since October 1, 1979.
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics: part of the Department of Labor, the Bureau of Labor Statistics has data on inflation & prices, unemployment, pay, productivity and work-place injuries.
  • The University of Michigan's Panel Study of Income Dynamics: this is a longitudinal study of 9000 families, collecting data on health, economics and social behavior.
  • Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Data Download Program: allows users to download data related to Fed statistical releases.  Includes information on exchange rates, flow of funds, interest rates, household finance and industrial activity.
  • Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Research Data: finance and economics working papers, including statistics.
  • Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Statistics and Historical Data: data sets on a variety of topics including exchange rates, flow of funds, interest rates, household finance and industrial activity.
  • Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED): a database of over 20,000 economic time series on topics such as banking, consumer prices indexes, exchange rates and employment.  You can download data in Excel and text formats.
  • Bank of New York Mellon: has a database on depository receipts which allows the user to search for information on a variety of characteristics.

 

Back to Top

 

States

  • Bureau of Economic Analysis: has a statics section on regional economic indicators and includes information on states and metropolitan areas. 
  • Labor Statistics: from the New York State Department of Labor, it includes data on jobs in demand, wages and unemployment.
  • Index of Coincident Economic Indicators: from New York State Department of Labor, this is a summary statistic that tracks the expansion/contraction of the economy. Historical data from 1970 is available.

 

Back to Top

 

International

  • Bank for International Settlements: is an international organization which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation. Its website has statistics on the global financial system including topics such as cross-border lending, securities, derivatives and foreign exchange.
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.
  • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online: produced by the United Nations, this publication presents current economic and social statistics for over 200 countries.  It contains 55 tables with over 100 indicators on topics such as industrial product prices, populaton, price indices, and employment.
  • World Federation of Exchanges: the trade association of 54 publically regulated stock, futures and options exchanges.  Contains monthly, annual and time series data. 

     

    Back to Top

     

    Foreign - Europe

    • European Central Bank: the central bank for Europe's single currency, the Euro.  This website contains statistics on inflation, GDP, the unemployment rate and labor productivity, amongst other topics.
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.

     

    Back to Top

     

    Foreign - Other

    • Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.
    • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online: produced by the United Nations, this publication presents current economic and social statistics for over 200 countries.  It contains 55 tables with over 100 indicators on topics such as industrial product prices, populaton, price indices, and employment.

     

    Back to Top

     

    Journals

    • The Journal of Legal Economics contains articles focusing on analyzing economic damages in litigation.  It is published by the American Academy of Economic and Financial Experts.
    • Journal of Econometrics: includes papers on topics such as estimation and other methodological aspects of the application of statistical inference to economic data. This journal is available through Fordham University Library. 

     

    Back to Top

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip