This is the "Social Science Statistics" page of the "Empirical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fordham University Law Library
This guide will provide resources for empirical legal research including information on data sets and statistical packages.
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.lawnet.fordham.edu/empiricalresearchguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Social Science Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Materials

Data:

  • FedStats: a website linking the user to sources of government statistics.  Searches can be done by topic, geographic area or agency. 
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States: summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.  It includes data from a variety of federal agencies such as the Bureau of Labor and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
  • IPUMS-I: publically available individual-level census data taken from samples of censuses from around the world since 1960.
  • IPUMS-USA: samples of the American population drawn from 15 censuses (1850-2000) and the American Community Surveys of 2000-2009.  Samples yield information on long-term changes in the American population.
  • IPUM-CPS: an integrated set of data of the March Current Population Survey.  It includes data from 1962-2010.
  • North Atlantic Population Project: a database containing census data from the UK, US, Canada, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.  The data is from censuses taken from 1850 to 1910 and support some cross-temporal analysis.

Journals:

  • Social Indicators Research: publishes research dealing with the measurement of quality of life. Includes all levels such as individual, organizational, municipal, national, regional and international.  This journal is available through Fordham University Library.
     

    History

    Datasets:

    • Historical Census Browser: produced by the University of Virginia Library, this website allows you to browse census data from by topic or by year.  The site carries data from 1790 to 1960.
    • IPUMS-USA: samples of the American population drawn from 15 censuses (1850-2000) and the American Community Surveys of 2000-2009.  Samples yield information on long-term changes in the American population.
    • IPUM-CPS: an integrated set of data of the March Current Population Survey.  It includes data from 1962-2010.
    • North Atlantic Population Project: a database containing census data from the UK, US, Canada, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.  The data is from censuses taken from 1850 to 1910 and support some cross-temporal analysis.

    Books & Journals:

    • Carter, Susan B. (ed.). Historical Statistics of the United States, earliest times to the present. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. HA202 .H57 2006 (at Reference) 
    • Historical Methods: publishes articles on statistical methodology, data collection and sampling procedures.  This journal is available through Fordham University Library.

     

    Back to Top

     

    Politics

    •  Datasets from Keith Poole, professor at University of Georgia: data on voting behavior in various congresses.
    • The American Presidency Project: includes data on the President's relationship with Congress, popularity, public appearances and the growth of the Executive Branch.

     

    Back to Top

     

    Sociology

    • Vital Statistics Data available online: through the Center for Disease Control.  This site has downloadable data sets for manipulation.
    • The University of Michigan's Panel Study of Income Dynamics: this is a longitudinal study of 9000 families, collecting data on health, economics and social behavior.
    • The University of Michigan's study, Monitoring the Future: an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults.
    • American Community Survey: produced by the US Census Bureau, this survey provides ongoing data to assist communities in planning for development.  Data is gathered on topics include age, sex, income, health insurance, veteran status and disabilities. Data is available online from 2001 to 2010.
    • ATUS-X: helps researchers access information obtained through the American Time Use Survey.  The American Time Use Survey is a time diary study that collects information on how much time people spend on certain types of activities.

     

    Back to Top

     

    Education

    • United States Education Dashboard: created by the US Department of Education. It presents indicators in 4 different areas that are critical to improving educational results.
    • 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Education: survey done by The Pew Hispanic Center/Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. Survey of Latino attitudes towards education, public school and other education issues.  
    • What it's Worth: report by the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce.  Looks at Census data to explore the relationship between college majors and future earnings. 

     

    Back to Top

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip