This is the "Courts, Judges & Lawyers" page of the "Empirical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fordham University Law Library
This guide will provide resources for empirical legal research including information on data sets and statistical packages.
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.lawnet.fordham.edu/empiricalresearchguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Courts, Judges & Lawyers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Materials

  • Statical Resources from the American Bar Association: information on law firm size, law firm diversity. lawyer demographics & salaries.

 

 

US Supreme Court

  • The US Supreme Court Justices Database: this database contains information on individuals nominated (whether confirmed or not) to the US Supreme Court, starting with John Jay and continuing to Sonia Sotomayor.  There are 263 variables in the categories of background characteristics, nomination and confirmation, service on the court and departure from the bench.

 

Back to Top

 

Federal Courts of Appeal

  • Attributes of US Federal Judges Database: includes information on personal, social, economic, career and political attributes of judges at both US Courts of Appeal and District Court levels.  The Courts of Appeal dataset includes full information on judges who served from 1801 - 2000, and partial data on judges from 2000-2004.

 

Back to Top

 

Federal District Courts

  • Attributes of US Federal Judges Database: includes information on personal, social, economic, career and political attributes of judges at both US Courts of Appeal and District Court levels.  The District Court Attributes dataset includes full information on judges who served from 1789 - 2000, and partial data on judges from 2000-2004.

 

Back to Top

 

State Courts

  • Court Statistics Project from the National Center for State Courts: includes information on state courts' structure and caseload.
  • The State Court Organization data series: information on the structure and framework of state trial and appellate courts.  Includes information on selection and service requirements of judges, the governance, finance and administration of the judicial branch and the composition and workings of state juries.  Data were collected in 1980, 1987, 1993, 1998 and 2004.
  • State Court Districts: from the US Census bureau, this site provides the State Court districts for each state.  It also has basic statitistical information on each district, including information on the number of judges and how they are elected.

 

Back to Top

 

Foreign and International

  • The National High Courts Database: includes information on decisions by the high courts of eleven countries, over an extended period of time.  Countries include Canada, India, and Australia, amonst others.
  •  European Court of Human Rights: statistics on cases for 2009 and 2010.  It also contains activity reports from 1998 as well as annual reports going back to 2001.
  • Court of Justice of the European Union: the annual report of the ECJ includes statistics on the activitie of the Court of Justice as well as the General Court and the Civil Service Tribunal.  Reports go back to 1997.
  • International Courts Data: site provides access to datasets collected by scholars on institutions such as the ECJ, ECHR, ICJ and GATT/WTO, amongst others.

 

Back to Top

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip