The treatises below are general treatises and are not specific to New York. Use these for an overview on the body of law you are interested in!
Administrative Law
ADR & Mediation
Antitrust & Trade Law
Banking Law
Bankruptcy Law
Civil Procedure
Civil Rights Law
Class Actions
Commercial Law
Computer & Internet Law
Constitutional Law
Contract Law
Corporate Law
Criminal Law
Criminal Procedure
Entertainment Law
Environmental Law
Evidence
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property Law
International Law
Labor & Employment Law
Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility
Maritime & Admiralty Law
Products Liability
Property Law
Securities Law
Tax Law
Tort Law
Will, Trusts & Estate Planning
Jacob A. Stein et al., Administrative Law
Lexis
This six-volume set provides special emphasis on federal agencies and analyzes all aspects of federal administrative law and process, including rulemaking, investigations, adjudications, right to counsel, separation of powers, and judicial review. First published in 1977, it is currently updated three times per year to help keep up-to-date with this complicated field of law.
Richard J. Pierce, Jr., Administrative Law Treatise
VitalLaw
First published in 1958 and updated semiannually, this is the authoritative treatise on administrative law. Content includes process and procedure for rulemaking and adjudication, due process, and evidence, with extensive coverage of judicial review and related issues (jurisdiction, standing, ripeness, reviewability, and remedies).
Charles Koch, Jr., Administrative Law and Practice
Westlaw
Geared towards the everyday practice of administrative law, this treatise also includes extensive coverage of the Freedom of Information Act and required agency disclosures. A word of caution: as of July 2021, the research chapter still references outdated resources for government documents so consult with a reference librarian for better information on document access.
Nigel Blackaby et al., Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration
K2400 .R43 2015
This book covers arbitral procedure, analyzes the relevant national and international laws that affect private arbitration, and explores the role of national courts and the rise of investment arbitration. Includes extensive references to arbitral and court decisions; and appendices on the major international rules of arbitration and conventions; and model arbitration clauses for international contracts.
Gary Born, International Commercial Arbitration
ProQuest Ebook Central
This extensive, three-volume treatise covers all aspects of international commercial arbitration and is written by leading author, law faculty, and practitioner Gary Born. Widely cited in national court decisions, there is a section for each aspect of agreements, procedures, and awards; includes appendices for relevant rules, statutes, international agreements, etc.
Sarah R. Cole et al., Mediation: Law, Policy, & Practice
Westlaw
Updated once a year, this treatise explores all aspects of mediation: the policy goals, contracting for mediation, procedure, and ethical obligations of attorneys representing their clients. One of the few ADR books specific to mediation.
Martin Domke & Larry E. Edmondson, Domke on Commercial Arbitration
KF9085 .D6 2003
Westlaw
This book is geared towards U.S. attorneys engaged in domestic and foreign commercial arbitration, with references to relevant federal statutes and treaties, plus practice tips alongside sample forms and clauses.
Phillip E. Areeda & Herbert Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law: An Analysis of Antitrust Principles and their Application
Lexis
This comprehensive 20-volume treatise was first published in 1978 and is updated annually; according to its publisher, this set has been cited more than 50 times by the Supreme Court and the Federal Trade Commission. It looks at mergers and acquisitions, intellectual property, predatory pricing, monopolizing conduct, "substantial" market power, market share and buyer concentration, interlocking directors, refusals to deal, territorial customer limitation, product tying, contractual arbitration provisions, and specific sectors such as healthcare and media.
Rudolf Callmann & Louis Altman, The Law of Unfair Competition, Trademarks, and Monopolies
KF1609 .C34 1981
Westlaw
This 10-volume treatise focuses on unfair competition as it relates to trademarks, including passing off, trade secrets, misappropriation, price discrimination, and predatory pricing. It is updated twice a year.
Earl W. Kintner, Federal Antitrust Law: A Treatise on the Antitrust Laws of the
KF1649 .K55
Lexis
This treatise focuses on antitrust as it relates to the work of the Federal Trade Commission and has extensive references to FTC decisions and other federal cases throughout.
Julian O. von Kalinowski et al., Antitrust Laws and Trade Regulation
KF1645 .V6 1996
Lexis
This 10-volume treatise on antitrust law includes analysis of antitrust violation, discussion of antitrust issues affecting specific industries, citations to cases, regulatory analysis, and analysis of antitrust laws of U.S. states. The last chapter overviews antitrust laws in several foreign countries plus the European Union, one of the most influential jurisdictions on antitrust (aka competition) law.
Michael P. Malloy, Banking Law and Regulation
KF974 .M355 2011
Westlaw
This in-depth treatise offers a detailed discussion of financial services law, focused on banking law and regulation and covering issues across significant banking acts.
A. Hewson Michie ed., Michie on Banks and Banking
KF974 .M52 1931
Lexis
This comprehensive resource offers encyclopedic coverage of banking law, examining how case law has shaped the organization, functions, rights, powers, duties, and liabilities of banks and other financial institutions.
Alan N. Resnick & Henry J. Sommer, ed., Collier on Bankruptcy
KF1524 .C65 2009
Lexis
This leading and authoritative treatise in the field of bankruptcy law covers all aspects of the practice area, including historical developments, case law analysis, federal and state issues, as well as forms for various types of bankruptcies.
William L. Norton, Jr., ed., Norton Bankruptcy Law and Practice
KF1524 .N67 2008
Westlaw
This 13-volume treatise provides a detailed discussion of each step of the bankruptcy process across various types. The treatise also contains numerous practice materials, including over 500 practice forms, a dictionary of bankruptcy terms, and flowcharts of bankruptcy’s procedural steps.
James W. Moore & Daniel R. Coquillette,
KF8716.5 .M82 1997
Lexis
This multi-volume treatise offers a complete coverage of the issues that arise during civil practice. Organized by rule number, these volumes offer rule text, notes, and understanding-enhancing commentary.
Charles A. Wright et al, Federal Practice and Procedure
KF8840 .W68
Westlaw
An extensive series of 31 volumes detailing the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, sometimes called “Wright and Miller.” Offers rule text, analysis, and commentary contributed by over 50 authors, from federal judges to law professors to practitioners.
Joseph G. Cook & John L. Sobieski, Jr., Civil Rights Actions
KF4749 .C65 1983
Lexis
This treatise takes an in-depth look at every aspect of civil rights laws, providing both a broad overview and case-critical analysis. It includes specific coverage of major civil rights-related acts and covers issues including privacy, property rights, fair housing, prisoners’ rights, voting rights, employment discrimination, age discrimination, and disabilities.
Sheldon H. Nahmod, Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Litigation: The Law of Section 1983
KF1325.C58 N34 1997
Westlaw
This treatise provides a deep dive into litigation that has arisen under Section 1983. Helpfully, it analyzes issues from both plaintiff’s and defendant’s perspectives. Organized by the language in Section 1983, it helps researchers locate relevant cases across jurisdictions on issues related to 1983 claims.
Rodney A. Smolla, Federal Civil Rights Acts
KF4749 .A745 2019
Westlaw
Organized by the types of causes of actions arising under federal civil rights law, this title provides an in-depth examination of both historical and current areas of civil rights law.
Alba Conte & Herbert B. Newberg, Newberg on Class Actions
KF8896 .N4 2011
Westlaw
This multi-volume treatise is one of the top treatments in the area of class action. This work addresses both essential fundamentals of class action lawsuits, while also engaging deeply in evolving controversies and theories. It is semi-annually updated to stay current on these issues.
Ronald A. Anderson, Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code
KF879.514 .A53 1981
Westlaw
This work provides an article by article analysis of the UCC as well as the Uniform Computer Information Transactions Act, the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, and the Electronic Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act. It includes citation to case law and other relevant practice materials.
John R. Fonseca & Patricia Fonseca, The Law of Modern Commercial Practices
KF889 .W5
This reference tool analyzes the UCC section by section, discussing governing law and principles, and providing expert commentary on the law of sales.
William D. Hawkland, Uniform Commercial Code Series
KF879.514 .H38
Westlaw
This series contains the official UCC text, as well as official comments and variations enacted by the states. It includes analysis and commentary, as well as links to related legislation and cases.
James J. White & Robert S. Summers, Uniform Commercial Code
KF890 .W45 2010
This practice-oriented work provides practical analysis of the UCC. It addresses issues of UCC interpretation and discusses relevant policy issues and case law.
Raymond Nimmer, Law of Computer Technology
Westlaw
This work primarily discusses intellectual property and transactional issues associated with computer technology and explores selected special topics, including internet jurisdiction and data privacy.
F. Lawrence Street & Mark P. Grant, Law of the Internet
KF390.5.C6 S77 2001
Lexis
This practitioner-focused work explores internet related topics including contracts, legal profession, insurance, and securities regulation.
John E. Nowak & Ronald D. Rotunda, Constitutional Law
KF4550 .N6 2010
Offering a thorough examination of constitutional law, this treatise explores numerous topics, including federal jurisdiction, individual liberties, and due process.
William J. Rich, Modern Constitutional Law
KF4550 .A6 2011
The third edition of this treatise provides commentary and analysis on constitutional law issues, including federalism, separation of powers, and constitutional litigation. A Table of Cases and Table of Law and Rules are also provided to quickly locate important decisions, statutes, and rules.
Ronald D. Rotunda & John E. Nowak, Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure
Updated annually, this treatise focuses on federal constitutional law, with particular emphasis on the impact of United States Supreme Court decisions on this area of law. This resource discusses the economic, political, and historical impact of constitutional caselaw.
Arthur L. Corbin & Joseph M. Perillo, Corbin on Contracts
KF801 .C79 1993
Lexis
One of the most cited and influential treatises, this multi-volume work presents an exhaustive and authoritative discussion of the principles of contract law.
E. Allan Farnsworth, Farnsworth on Contracts
KF801 .F367 2004
This comprehensive work aimed at practitioners includes up-to-date discussion of contemporary contract law doctrine and practice.
Joseph M. Perillo, Calamari and Perillo on Contracts
KF801 .C26 2009
This work provides an expert overview on the basic rules and principles of contract law. It covers all core contract topics, including offer and acceptance, parol evidence, consideration, performance, breach, and more.
Samuel Williston & Richard A. Lord, A Treatise on the Law of Contracts
KF801 .W73 1990
Westlaw
A leading authority on contract law, this treatise covers both the historical foundations of contract law (including English case law background) and contemporary issues. Topics covered include contract formation, statute of frauds, nonperformance, and more.
Phillip I. Blumberg, Blumberg on Corporate Groups
KF1414 .B583 2005
This work addresses the legal relationships of corporate groups and parent, subsidiary, and affiliated companies. Moving beyond traditional corporate law, this treatise considers recent trends in enterprise liability versus more traditional approaches, drawing together case law and detailed analyses.
James D. Cox & Thomas Lee Hazen, Cox & Hazen on Corporations
KF1414 .C69 2003
This classic treatise is a comprehensive overview of corporate law, addressing both historical origins and contemporary applications, including key statutes and cases. Topics include the Model Business Corporation Act, the incorporation process, mergers and acquisitions, and more.
Wayne R. LaFave, Substantive Criminal Law
KF9219 .L386 2017
Westlaw
One of the most preeminent treatise sets in the area of criminal law, this treatise provides a comprehensive overview of criminal law, including general principles of criminal law and offenses against both the person and property.
David S. Rudstein et al., Criminal Constitutional Law
KF9219 .R83 1990
Lexis
This treatise examines constitutional issues involved in criminal law, providing both an in-depth look at the substantive issues and practical procedural and strategic guidelines for working on a case involving criminal constitutional law. It covers topics including search and seizure, eyewitness identification, prosecutorial decision making, criminal procedural matters, right to counsel, and much more.
Francis Wharton & Charles E. Torcia, Wharton's Criminal Law
KF9219 .W43 1993
Westlaw
Another preeminent set of volumes for criminal law, this title is organized by offenses and provides a structural analysis of criminal law principles and an in-depth discussion of each offense, alongside potential defenses to each crime.
James W. Moore & Daniel R. Coquillette,
KF8716.5 .M82 1997
Lexis
An extensive series detailing the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. Organized by rule number, this offers rule text, analysis, and commentary. It includes analysis of issues not yet litigated and in-depth evaluations of decisions considering the federal rules.
Wayne R. LaFave, Criminal Procedure
KF9619 .L34 2015
Westlaw
This preeminent treatise provides a detailed discussion of every step of the criminal procedure process, from arrest, search, and seizure to appeals and post-conviction review.
Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment
KF9630 .L26 2020
Westlaw
This classic title provides a deep-dive into the Fourth Amendment and interprets and applies the Fourth Amendment to a variety of fact patterns. It addresses topics including probable cause, search warrants, stop and frisk, the exclusionary rule, and more.
Jessica L. Darraby, Art, Artifact, Architecture & Museum Law
KF4288 .D372
Westlaw
This work examines the policies and laws related to the visual arts, including topics like forgery, museum artist contracts, tax, and the Uniform Commercial Code. It discusses the social, policy, economic, and cultural issues so crucial to arts transactions and litigation. The treatise provides detailed discussion of the Visual Artist Rights Acts as well as discussions of state laws related to art and museums.
Robert Fremlin & Michael Landau, Entertainment Law
KF4290 .F74 2006
This work provides an in-depth analysis of entertainment case law, forms, and drafting guidance. It covers a broad range of entertainment law issues, including: investment, distribution, talent representation, agreements, credits and billing, artistic control, defamation, privacy, publicity, copyright, moral rights, trademark, unfair competition, electronic rights.
Alexander Lindey & Michael Landau, Lindey on Entertainment, Publishing, and the Arts: Agreements and the Law
KF2992 .L5 2004
Westlaw
This work is a go-to for entertainment law practitioners. It includes topics such as: fair use, duration of copyright, copyrighted works posted to Twitter, regulation of offensive content. This treatise also includes forms for entertainment law transactions including: art work agreements, talent agreements, and television and motion picture idea agreements.
Frank P. Grad, Treatise on Environmental Law
KF3775 .G7 1973
Lexis
A preeminent treatise on environmental law, this treatise focuses on federal law but also highlights state law where implicated. This treatise covers most areas of environmental law and regulation. It includes major federal environmental acts and regulations as appendices.
Kenneth A. Manaster & Daniel P. Selmi, State Environmental Law
Lexis
This treatise discusses state environmental laws and regulations focusing on the major areas of air pollution, water pollution, and hazardous waste cleanup. It also discusses state litigation as well as emerging trends in state environmental law.
Sheldon M. Novick, ed., Law of Environmental Protection
KF3775 .L39 1987
Westlaw
This treatise focuses on the 9 major acts administered by the EPA and includes some state content. It provides an overview of the development of environmental law and the principles underpinning lawmaking and rulemaking, then moves into discussion of federal environmental programs and regulation.
William H. Rodgers, Jr., Environmental Law
KF3812 .R63 1994
Westlaw
This treatise offers broad coverage of legal developments in environmental law. It looks both at the history and future of environmental law including environmental protections movements and highlights environmental issues posed by specific events such as September 11. It also pays particular attention to Native American tribes as part of the environmental protection movement.
Richard D. Friedman, ed., New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence
KF8935 .W652 2010
Westlaw (Volume 1: Selected Rules of Limited Admissibility)
This five volume work provides exhaustive discussion of evidence in both criminal and civil law. Each volume is listed separately on Westlaw; the volumes are: Selected Rules of Limited Admissibility, Evidentiary Privileges, Expert Evidence, Evidence of Other Misconduct & Similar Events, and Impeachment and Rehabilitation.
Kenneth S. Broun, ed., McCormick on Evidence
KF8935 .M29 2014
Westlaw
A leading authority on evidence, this work addresses core topics including privilege, witnesses, exclusionary rules, and hearsay. It covers the Federal Rules of Evidence, as well as state rules that diverge from the federal.
Glen Weissenberger & James J. Duane, Weissenberger's Federal Evidence
KF8935 .W42 2022
Lexis
Analyzing the Federal Rules of Evidence, this work covers both scholarly theory and practical application. Regular updates include discussion of recent case law and developments in the Rules.
John H. Wigmore & John T. McNaughton, Evidence in Trials at Common Law
KF8935 .W65 1961
Frequently called Wigmore on Evidence, this work is considered a classic treatise by many legal professionals. It is a leading authority on core principles of evidence.
Dan Kesselbrenner & Lory D. Rosenberg, Immigration Law and Crimes
KF4819 .I472
Westlaw
This work specifically analyzes the impact of criminal activity and criminal law on non-U.S. citizens, and the interaction of criminal and immigration laws. Topics covered include criminal convictions, deportability, and rights of noncitizens, as well as updates addressing recent case law and administrative rulings.
Richard D. Steel, Steel on Immigration Law
KF4819 .S73
Westlaw
A comprehensive overview of immigration law and procedures, this work covers topics including admission and exclusion procedures, citizenship and naturalization, refugees and asylees, permanent resident status, and more.
Ira J. Kurzban, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook
KF4819 .K87
A go-to for immigration law practitioners, this work provides guidance on all aspects of U.S. immigration law, ranging from asylum applications to removal policies. Annual updates cover recent case law and relevant government policies. The newest editions can be found on Reserve at the Circulation Desk.
Donald S. Chisum, Chisum on Patents: A Treatise on the Law of Patentability, Validity and Infringement
KF3114 .C47 1997
Lexis
This treatise is the most cited patent treatise and covers foundational patent concepts including originality, novelty, utility, nonobviousness, and infringement. It also has more practical content focusing on rules related to disclosure, priority, applications, and patent maintenance.
Michael A. Epstein, Epstein on Intellectual Property
KF2979 .E67 2006
This treatise gives overview treatment to the following topics: the law of trade secrets, copyright, trademarks and patents, ideas, and non-competition agreements. Its regular updates cover legal developments in biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more.
J. Thomas McCarthy, McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition
KF3180 .M3 2017
Westlaw
In its fifth edition, this seven-volume treatise provides authoritative sources on registering, licensing, protecting, and litigating trademarks and related rights. It provides analyses of the relevant statutes, cases, and litigation practice of trademark law.
Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer on Copyright: A Treatise on the Law of Literary, Musical and Artistic Property, and the Protection of Ideas
KF2991.5 .N5 1978
Lexis
This well-known copyright treatise offers in-depth analysis of modern U.S. copyright law affecting printed works, plays and motion pictures, music, artistic property, software and digital content delivered over the Internet. In addition to giving deep treatment to copyright topics, it also provides forms for transactional copyright work along with commentary.
William F. Patry, Patry on Copyright
KF2991.5 .P382 2006
Westlaw
This multi-volume treatise provides analysis of copyright, including legislative histories for major legislation, as well as circuit-by-circuit breakdown of case law.
James Crawford, Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law
KZ 3225.B76 A37 2019
A classic treatise on international law for over 50 years. This one-volume book begins with the basic concepts in international law, such as the sources and subjects of international law and the relations between states. It then gives coverage to different areas of law: law of the sea, environmental law, jurisdiction, nationality, and international disputes.
Robert Jennings & Arthur Watts, Oppenheim’s International Law (Volume 1: Peace)
KZ3264.A3 I68 1996
Originally published over a century ago, this is one of the most important and influential international law treatises in English. This edition is the most recent update and includes Volume 1: Peace, Parts 1-4; topics in this volume are the subjects of international law (states), the objects of international law (territory, the high seas, persons), international relations (diplomacy), and transactions (treaties). Multiple earlier editions of Prof. Oppenheim's original two-volume set, which includes Volume 2: War & Neutrality (not updated), are published as International Law: A Treatise and can be found on HeinOnline or in the stacks at the sixth floor at call number KZ3264.A3 I68.
N. Peter Lareau, Labor and Employment Law
Lexis
This treatise covers employment issues under federal and state law. This 11-volume set, updated four times a year, covers discrimination issues, the ADA, pensions, leave, wage and hour, occupational health and safety, arbitration, and employment contracts.
Lex K. Larson, Employment Discrimination
Barbara Lindemann & Paul Grossman, Employment Discrimination Law
Ronald E. Mallen & Jeffrey M. Smith, Legal Malpractice
KF313 .M292
Westlaw
This work covers lawyers’ professional responsibility and potential liabilities. Topics include malpractice prevention and risk management, insurance, sanctions, and litigation.
Paul R. Rice, Attorney-Client Privilege in the United States
KF8959.A7 R52
Westlaw
Aimed at practitioners, this work provides an overview of the attorney-client privilege, including issues of communications, confidentiality, waiver, exceptions, constitutional issues, and evidentiary issues.
Jacob A. Stein & Andrew M. Beato, The Law of Law Firms
KF300 .S7
Westlaw
This work specifically concerns the legal issues faced by law firms, including professional liability, compensation, fees and billing, advertising, and rights and responsibilities of partners and associates.
Robert Force & Martin J. Norris, The Law of Seamen
KF1121 .N64 2003
Westlaw
This treatise is particularly keyed to be a definitive resource on the responsibilities and rights of merchant seamen. This three-volume work is particularly detailed and includes useful resources such as a compendium of maritime injury cases.
Joshua S. Force & Robert J. Zapf, Benedict on Admiralty
KF1104 .B4 1950-
Lexis
The most comprehensive research tool dealing with maritime and admiralty law; Benedict on Admiralty is particularly useful for its inclusion of difficult to locate primary materials, treaties, and maritime insurance forms.
Russell J. Davis, ed., American Law of Products Liability
KF1296 .H88 1987
Westlaw
This treatise covers the entirety of products liability law. Useful for its product-by-product breakdown of products that have previously been subject to products liability cases. Also features commentary, sample forms, and templates for practitioner use.
Louis R. Frumer & Melvin I. Friedman, Products Liability
KF1296.A6 F7
Lexis
Originally published in 1960 by noted practitioners in the field and updated over time, this treatise is a great resource for extensive technical information about the field as it provides detailed coverage of the technical aspects of practicing products liability law. Also of note is the number of chapters that explain the technical details of specific products.
David G. Owen, et al., Owen & Davis on Products Liability
KF1296 .O939 2014
Westlaw
An extensive treatment of the law of products liability, Owen & Davis on Products Liability gives the reader a relatively holistic view of the topic. The treatise explores the history and development of products liability law and interweaves it with theories and also explains tensions and developments in the field.
Milton R. Friedman, ed., Friedman and Smith on Contracts and Conveyances of Real Property
KF670 .F7 2017
PLI
Friedman and Smith on Contracts and Conveyances of Real Property is a practitioner-friendly treatise. Originally authored by a practitioner, this treatise features over 140 sample forms, checklists, and clauses. This work is also notable for its extensive guidance on what to do and what to avoid in practice.
David A. Thomas, ed., Thompson on Real Property
KF570 .T47 2011
Lexis
This extensive treatise has over 100 chapters and covers topics such as adverse possession, landlord-tenant, constitutional law issues, construction, and even space law; there are also chapters devoted to foreign property law in select countries. This work has been well received and cited in various court decisions, including Supreme Court decisions.
Thomas L. Hazen, Treatise on the Law of Securities Regulation
KF1439 .H39 2016
Westlaw
This treatise offers both an introduction to securities law and regulation, as well as in-depth discussion of the issues in the field. The resource provides information on topics such as securities registration, corporate takeovers, and shareholder liability, and discusses relevant primary sources, including key statutory acts.
Louis Loss et al., Securities Regulation
KF1070 .L6 2014
An extensive 11-volume treatise on securities regulation, this resource covers numerous cases, SEC administrative decisions and letters, as well as the statutory and regulatory provisions that govern this area of law.
Boris I. Bittker et al., Federal Income Taxation of Individuals
KF6369 .B52 2002
Westlaw
This treatise, published by WG&L, covers federal income taxation of individuals, offering extensive commentary and analysis of the legal components of taxation, including the impact of caselaw, statutes, and regulations.
Boris I. Bittker &
KF6335 .B5 1999
Westlaw
Focusing on the federal taxation of income, estates, and gifts, this WG&L resource addresses the history, constitutionality, and structural principles of this area of law. Content includes discussion of capital gains and losses, trusts and estates, and exempt organizations, as well tax and tax practice and procedure.
Richard B. Stephens, Federal Estate and Gift Taxation
KF6572 .S7 2002
Westlaw
This WG&L tax treatise explores the federal estate tax, gift tax, and generation-skipping transfer tax. Each tax is discussed individually, with background provided on the components of the tax, the legal implications, and the key primary sources.
Dan B. Dobbs, The Law of Torts
KF1250 .D63 2011
Westlaw
This work replaced the acclaimed Prosser on Torts. As Prosser’s successor, Dobb’s Law of Torts offers expansive and authoritative coverage of the field of torts. This four-volume set also features author commentaries that offer pro and con explanations for potentially changing the law.
Fowler V. Harper, et al., Harper, James and Gray on Torts
KF1250 .H37 2006
This work is particularly skilled at addressing the rapidly changing field of torts. It is regularly updated and strives to keep readers abreast of current developments in a more volatile field of legal practice.
J.D. Lee & Barry A. Lindhal, Modern Tort Law: Liability & Litigation
KF1250 .D6 2002
Westlaw
Another work that tries to keep particularly up to date in a rapidly changing field, Modern Tort Law: Liability & Litigation goes beyond discussing classic causes of action and seeks to show evolving areas of the field and new potential avenues of practice.
Robert D. Sack, Sack on Defamation: Libel, Slander, and Related Problems
KF1266 .S2 2017
PLI
Stuart M. Speiser, et al., American Law of Torts
KF1250 .S568 1983-
This treatise is useful for readers through its extensive citations to American Jurisprudence and American Law Reports. The work is authored by leading tort authorities and balances discussion of tort theories and practices.
William J. Bowe & Douglas H. Parker, Page on Wills
KF755 .P13 1960
Lexis
This work examines all aspects of wills and probate law, including exhaustive coverage of the history of wills, modern statutes and case law, tax concerns, gifts, and trusts. The multi-volume work also includes forms.