Appellate Procedure
Civil Procedure
Commercial Law
Contracts
Corporations
Criminal Law and Procedure
Discovery
Elder Law
Employment and Labor Law
Environmental Law
Evidence
Family Law
Landlord and Tenant Law
Mortgages
Nonprofit Organizations
Probate Law and Practice
Products Liability
Real Property
Torts
Zoning and Land Use
Thomas R. Newman, New York Appellate Practice
Lexis
“The purpose of this book is to help make the [appellate] experience exhilarating and not a nightmare.” In keeping with that goal, the text provides the applicable rules and relevant cases for the appellate practice in New York and is updated annually. In addition, the text provides tips, suggestions, and guidance on the rules.
Mark Davies et al., New York Civil Appellate Practice (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.8
Westlaw
This text discusses the process of civil appeals in NY state courts including changes to the CPLR and other relevant statutes. It is comprehensive covering topics from basic court information to appellate practice to Article 78 transfers. The text includes forms in each chapter relevant to the chapter's topics and contains a comprehensive review of the New York state court structure.
Jack B. Weinstein, Harold L. Korn & Arthur R. Miller, New York Civil Practice: CPLR
KFN5995 .N4 2005
Lexis
This treatise includes both the laws and rules relevant to civil practice in New York. It is organized to follow the litigation process just like the CPLR itself is organized. Each section provides the law or rules and then provides the relevant in-depth analysis including specific factual scenarios, along with any historical notes.
David D. Siegel, New York Practice
KFN5995 .S562 2018
West Academic
“Described by many lawyers as the bible of New York practice, Siegel's Hornbook on New York Practice serves as the complete guide to civil practice in New York state courts, with a broad perspective in each subject.”
Robert L. Haig, Commercial Litigation in New York State Courts (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.2-4D
Westlaw
This 11-volume treatise contains a review of procedural and substantive law with strategy pointers and practical advice for litigators throughout. There are 64 chapters covering areas of substantive law that are most common in commercial cases, such as contracts, antitrust, and licensing, and developing areas like artificial intelligence and fashion retail. It is updated annually to include analysis of the most recent case law and other developments in commercial law.
Peter L. Bain, New York Practice Guide. Business and Commercial
KFN5337 .N48 1987-
Lexis
This treatise provides a step-by-step guide for business and commercial matters, with each chapter containing background on the law, practice advice for representing and advising clients, and sample forms. It is updated annually.
Glen Banks, New York Contract Law (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.28
Westlaw
This treatise reviews contract terms and clauses and provides advice and strategies for drafting contracts. It gives an in-depth analysis of New York case law and statutes, including several recent cases that have clarified and refined contract law in New York.
Timothy Murray, Corbin on New York Contracts
Lexis
This treatise provides ample citations to New York judicial precedents as well as statutory law while highlighting the differences of New York law compared to other laws. Topic coverage includes unique aspects of NY law related to the statute of frauds, choice of law provisions, enforcement of exculpatory clauses, and consideration for offers and various signed and written promises. It also provides references to Corbin on Contracts.
Isidore Kantrowitz et al., White, New York Business Entities
KFN5340 .W58 2005
Lexis
This nine-volume treatise is the leading authority for practitioners in corporate law. It provides guidance on establishing, running, and terminating businesses, including tax implications, in New York. Topics covered include business corporation law, limited company law, not for profit corporation law, and partnership law.
Robert G. Bogle, Criminal Procedure in New York
KFN6155 .B76 2006
Westlaw
This resource covers all aspects of criminal procedure in New York and includes more than 200 form documents including pleadings, motions, and orders.
Marvin Waxner, New York Criminal Practice
KFN6155.A6 N49 2005
Lexis
This multi-volume set offers in-depth coverage of penal law offenses and available defenses, pre-trial and trial procedure, sentencing requirements, and criminal appeals, with over 300 sample forms. It is updated three times a year and most chapters are accompanied by related forms.
Richard A. Greenberg et al., New York Criminal Law (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.6
Westlaw
This treatise offers comprehensive coverage of New York state penal code along with an analysis of each offense along with relevant case law. It also discusses constitutional issues and statutory construction of penal laws.
Lawrence K. Marks, Pretrial Criminal Procedure (New York Practice Series)
Westlaw
This treatise offers practical advice on pre-trial questions for criminal cases including jurisdiction, double jeopardy, preliminary proceedings, grand juries and indictments.
Kyle C. Biseglie, LexisNexis Practice Guide: New York e-Discovery and Evidence
Lexis
This two-volume treatise analyzes the statutory and case law of discovery and disclosure in New York, including comparing New York and federal discovery rules. The treatise also contains 100+ checklists and forms.
Anne M. Payne & Arlene Zalayet, Modern New York Discovery
KFN6020 .P39 2004
Westlaw
This two-volume treatise analyzes the statutory and case law of discovery and disclosure in New York, including comparing New York and federal discovery rules. The treatise also contains 100+ checklists and forms.
Arlene Zalayet, New York Examination Before Trial and Disclosure Devices
KFN6020 .N496
Westlaw
This two-volume treatise analyzes the statutory and case law of discovery and disclosure in New York, including comparing New York and federal discovery rules. The treatise also contains 100+ checklists and forms.
Vincent J. Russo & Marvin Rachlin, New York Elder Law Practice
Westlaw
Provides an explanation of how to handle specific problems facing senior clients and planning for people with special needs. It provides practice pointers, case studies, checklists, and model forms.
Martin Minkowitz, New York Workers’ Compensation (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.27
Westlaw
This practice-focused text analyzes workers' compensation statutes, cases, and rules, as well as federal law and its interaction with and relation to New York law. Topics include medical benefits, statutes of limitations, discrimination, disability benefits, occupational disease, hearings, and appeals.
Sharon P. Stiller, Employment Law in New York (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.13A
Westlaw
This text analyzes state employment law topics including employment contracts, discrimination, torts, privacy, wage and benefit claims, and union protections.
Jonathan L. Sulds, New York Employment Law, Second Edition
KFN5556 .N485
Lexis
A leading resource for New York practitioners, this treatise covers private sector employment law. Sections cover the contractual relationship, incidents of the employment relationship (encompassing issues like employment applications, background checks, privacy, wages and hours), discrimination, and statutory regulation. Appendices include New York State and City statutes and regulations, local ordinances, and forms.
Kenneth W. Taber et al., Employment Litigation in New York (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.13
Westlaw
This practice-focused text analyzes New York State employment law litigation issues, including administrative practice and procedure, pleadings, discovery, motion practice, settlement, damages, and alternative dispute resolution.
Michael B. Gerrard et al., Environmental Impact Review in New York
KFN5610 .G47
Lexis
This text covers New York's State Environmental Quality Review Act (SEQRA) and the environmental impact review process. It covers each stage of the compliance requirements and procedures, analyzing cases and providing guidance for preparing and evaluating Environmental Assessment Forms and Environmental Impact Statements, and will be of use to applicants, opponents, and regulators. Appendices include checklists and the SEQRA law and its regulations.
William R. Ginsberg et al., Environmental Law and Regulation in New York (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.9-9A
Westlaw
This text analyzes New York and federal statutes, regulations, and case law relating to environmental issues. Topics include toxic tort law, air quality, water quality and supply, solid waste management, pesticides and herbicides, wetlands and coastal zones, energy, and criminal enforcement.
Robert A. Barker, Evidence in New York State and Federal Courts (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.5-5A
Westlaw
This resources is a comprehensive publication on the law of evidence in New York, and includes a summary of corresponding law under the Federal Rules of Evidence. The authors synthesize and explain the complex mix of cases and statutes, while examining the purpose of those rules, together with a discussion of leading cases. The title also includes New York’s evidence statute and the relevant FRE in their restyled format. Chapters cover general principles, judicial notice, burden of proof and presumptions, relevancy, privileges, witnesses, opinions and expert testimony, hearsay, authentication and identification, best evidence, and real and demonstrative evidence.
Helen E. Freedman, New York Objections: Trial Practice, Tips, and Cases
KFN5079 .W48 v.5-5A
Bloomberg
Continues and replaces loose-leaf publication with the same title. Over 100 objections are covered with pattern language, how to respond when faced with the objection, comments on how the rules apply, practice tips and cautions with detailed advice from the bench, arguments and strategies to support your objection, tactics and arguments to counter your opponent's objections, and relevant case cites with a synopsis of each case.
Louis R. Frumer & Elliott L. Biskind, Bender’s New York Evidence–CPLR
Lexis
CPLR publication contains all pertinent New York and federal case law. It illustrates courtroom methods and techniques with samples of direct and cross examinations. It also has an index, statutory references, and case tables.
Randolph N. Jonakait et al., New York Evidentiary Foundations
Includes bibliographical references and indexes. Learn how to address and overcome evidentiary problems in New York courtrooms. It brings New York evidence law to life, showing you how to frame foundational questions to gain admission or exclusion of evidence. Includes specific lines of questioning, demonstrating courtroom-proven trial techniques applying New York evidence law.
Michael M. Martin, Daniel J. Capra & Faust F. Rossi, New York Evidence Handbook: Rules, Theory, and Practice
A comprehensive guide to all of the rules and principles of evidence applicable in New York courts. It gathers all of the leading decisions and significant statutes, and walks you through their operation, helping you solve commonly encountered problems.
Thomas B. Merritt, New York Elements of an Action (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48
Provides substantive and practical overviews of more than 20 causes of action under New York law. Each chapter identifies the elements of an action, discusses how to investigate and analyze a given case, and suggests litigation strategies, potential remedies, and possible defenses. Includes practice aids, checklists, sample pleadings, sample forms, research references, and case discussions. Covers a range of legal claims, including business, employment, real estate, personal injury, products liability, contract, and tort actions.
Edward B. Alderman et al., New York Practice Guide: Domestic Relations
KFN5115 .N49
Lexis
Provides step-by-step guidance for handling matrimonial actions. Each chapter provides legal background, guidance on practice and procedure, forms and reference guide. Includes checklists, questions and answers, pleadings, motion papers, sample agreements, and judgments. Topics include divorce and annulment, service of papers, jurisdiction and venue, representing the plaintiff, representing the defendant, calendar practice, temporary relief, financial disclosure, distribution of marital property, experts’ valuation methods, tax considerations, child custody and visitation, domestic violence, and enforcement of monetary judgments
Joseph R. Carrieri & David J. Lansner, New York Civil Practice: Family Court Proceedings
KFN5115 .N499
Lexis
This four-volume treatise provides direct, New York specific answers to questions that arise in day-to-day practice, as well as valuable analysis of New York family law and practice. Includes comprehensive coverage of important recent NY legislation concerning Person in Need of Supervision, and permanency of child placement.
Willard H. DaSilva, New York Matrimonial Practice
KFN5126 .D38 2006
Westlaw
A one-volume treatise that provides comprehensive pre- and post-marriage planning and litigation guidance to NY state family law practitioners. Coverage includes agreements, jurisdiction, judicial relief, litigation, post judgment enforcement, counsel fees,
Kristin M. Kerschensteiner, Callaghan’s Family Court Law and Practice in New York
KFN5116.A15 C35
Westlaw
Continues a Looseaf published 2005-2011 as rev. ed with title: Family Court Law and Practice in NY. Comprehensive three-volume treatise detailing the state family court system. Topics include enforcement and modification of support orders, family offenses and juvenile delinquency, termination of parental rights, adoption, and foster care.
David J. Lansner & Judith M. Reichler, New York Civil Practice: Matrimonial Actions
KFN5126 .N495 2005
Lexis
A trusted authority on matrimonial law and practice for more than 30 years. This four-volume treatise provides direct, NY specific answers to questions that arise in day-to-day practice.
Alan D. Scheinkman, New York Law of Domestic Relations (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.11-12
Westlaw
Provides a complete treatment of all NY matrimonial laws. Topics covered include divorce, separation agreements, equitable distribution, child support and custody, maintenance, enforcement, pensions, taxes, and other financial issues, professional fees and conduct.
Merril Sobie & Gary Solomon, New York Family Court Practice (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.10
Westlaw
Contains information and guidance on all actions within the jurisdiction of NY family court. Coverage includes procedures dictated by the Family Court Act, child protection and domestic violence, paternity and adoption, juvenile delinquency, child neglect and abuse proceedings, persons in need of supervision, child custody, termination of parental rights, child support, the role of counsel, and appeals.
Robert F. Dolan, Rasch’s New York Landlord and Tenant, Including Summary Proceedings
KFN5145 .R38 2017
Westlaw
Covers the commencement of the landlord tenant relationship, the respective rights and obligations of the landlord and tenant, termination of the relationship between landlord and tenant, summary proceedings to recover possession of real property.
Daniel Finkelstein & Lucas A. Ferrara, Landlord and Tenant Practice in New York (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.F-H
Westlaw
A treatise that covers legal and practitioner advice concerning state landlord and tenant practice. Covers all substantive and procedural issues encountered in ownership and management of commercial and residential real estate.
Andrew Scherer, Residential Landlord-Tenant Law in New York
KFN5145 .S34
Westlaw
Provides step-by-step guidance through every major aspect of New York residential landlord-tenant law.
Bruce J. Bergman, Bergman on New York Mortgage Foreclosures
Lexis
Definitive analysis of the law, related to residential and commercial property foreclosures in New York. Contains tips and forms for practice. Topics include mortgage drafting, acceleration of debt on default, initiation of the mortgage procedure, foreclosure and alternatives to foreclosure.
D. Kirk Drussel, Mortgages and Mortgage Foreclosure in New York
Westlaw
Comprehensive guide to the basics of mortgages, foreclosures, and accelerations in NY, as well as more complex issues.
Pamela Ko & Jenean Taranto, Mortgage Liens in New York (New York Practice Series)
Westlaw
Provides in depth analysis of various mortgage liens in New York. Provides detailed coverage of specific types of mortgage agreements, including executory contracts, vendor/vendee mortgages, leasehold mortgages, corporate mortgages, open-end mortgages, deeds or mortgage in trust, graduated payment mortgages, purchase money mortgages, variable rate mortgages, and wrap around mortgages.
Victoria B. Bjorklund, James J. Fishman & Daniel L. Kurtz, New York Nonprofit Law and Practice
KFN5342 .B58 2014
Lexis
Updated Annually. For attorneys or individuals forming or managing, or serving as board members of New York non-profit organizations. It offers practical advice from three leading experts on topics such as choice of entity, applying for tax exempt status, administrating corporate assets, corporate governance, and corporate modification.
Michael Weinberger, New York Products Liability 2d
KFN5323 .W43 1997
Westlaw
This treatise is designed to provide the reader with practical advice regarding claims of injury from items in the home or workplace. The author is a practitioner and makes sure the volume includes both tactics for practical use as well as comparisons of New York law vs. that of other jurisdictions.
Karl B. Holtzchue et al., New York Practice Guide: Real Estate
KFN5140 .N49 1986
Lexis
Essential “how-to” guide for practice in real estate law. First published in 1986 and updated biannually, this work contains everything from property purchases, to zoning, to landlord/tenant law. Includes useful forms and checklists as well as detailed legal analysis.
Joseph Rasch, The New York Law and Practice of Real Property
KFN5140 .R22 1991
Westlaw
Featuring 43 topics/chapters over 3 books, this set is designed for practitioner use through its concise writing on day to day issues in property law. Contains chapter summaries, forms, and case law that is directly on point to aid the reader in quickly understanding and applying the law.
Lee S. Kreindler et al., New York Law of Torts (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.14-16
Westlaw
These volumes are designed for one stop coverage of complex tort materials by experienced practitioners. Annually updated, this work grapples with tort reform and Court of Appeals cases to ensure it is on the forefront of Tort Law in New York state. Particularly of note, these volumes include essential checklists, thousands of annotations and case summaries, keycite results for essential cases, and forms for practitioner use.
Oscar Leroy Warren, Warren’s Negligence in the New York Courts
KFN5315 .W33
Lexis
The go-to source on negligence in New York state for nearly 60 years, Warren’s Negligence is a seven volume treatise designed to help attorneys find cases that “look like theirs.” Recently updated and modernized, this volume features over 400 fact patterns for attorneys to find analogies to issues they’re currently working on.
Elizabeth A. Hartnett, New York Practice Guide: Probate and Estate Administration
Lexis
This practical treatise handles estate and probate administration in a handy how-to manner. The work interweaves this how-to style with in-depth analysis of federal and state case law and statutes. This treatise is ideal for those looking for practice oriented and topical coverage of estate planning and Surrogate’s Court practice.
Colleen F. Carew, Harris 6th Edition New York Estates: Probate, Administration, and Litigation
KFN5205 .H33 2010
Westlaw
This treatise has been highly regarded as a reference tool for practitioners for the past 50 years. It is a helpful and useful resource for the variety of situations you may encounter when dealing with probate, both contested and uncontested. Other particular strengths of this treatise include its inclusion of forms, tables, and computation examples particularly designed to save users time.
Eve Preminger, Trusts and Estates Practice in New York (New York Practice Series)
KFN5079 .W48 v.D-E
Westlaw
A useful treatise for trusts and estates practice, this work is notable for its coverage of lifetime gifts and planning for incapacity. Other notable strengths include extensive coverage of pre-death planning, practical pointers for the unique areas of NY law, and a collection of otherwise difficult to find forms.
Margaret V. Turano, New York Estate Administration
KFN5210 .T872
Lexis
A concise and useful resource for those interested in estate administration and practice in Surrogate’s Court. Contains expert analysis and detailed discussion of every aspect of Surrogate’s Court practice.
Martin W. O'Toole et al., Harris 6th Edition: New York Estates -- Estate Planning and Taxation
KFN5205 .H332 2013 2022-2023 Supplement
Westlaw
An established resource for over 60 years, New York Estates is notable for its comprehensive coverage of estate practice from first contacts to final accounting. Recent expansions include expansions of tax considerations on estate planning.
Patricia E. Salkin, New York Zoning Law and Practice
KFN5811 .A95 2000
Westlaw
This four-volume treatise covers a range of situations from creation to enforcement of zoning; it also includes forms, definitions, and copies of ordinances. Topics include zoning, planning, historic preservation, land use control, and adjudications related to these topics.