Empirical Research: Health

United States

States

International

• National Center for Health Statistics: part of the Center for Disease Control, the NCHS is the United States's principal health statistics agency.  The site contain publications, surveys and data downloads for public use.  

• FastStats: created by the Center for Disease Control, this site has national health statistics organized by topic and includes link to publications that use the statistics.
• CDC Wonder: provides numerous datasets on public health, and includes summary statistics, maps and charts. 

• Vital Statistics Data available online: through the Center for Disease Control.  This site has downloadable data sets for manipulation.

• National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey: a program of studies to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.  The survey includes interviews as well as physical exams.  This survey is a program of the National Center of Health Statistics.

• Longitudinal Studies of Aging: a multicohort study of people over 70, measuring changes in health, functional status and living arrangements.  This is a colloborative project of the National Institute on Aging and the National Center of Health Statistics.

• The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study: this longitudinal study collects information about income, work, assets, disability and physical health of people nearing or at the end of their working life.

• Hispanic Healthcare Surveys: by Pew Hispanic Center and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.  Focuses on access to and experiences with healthcare.

• Integrated Health Interview Series: set of data from the US National Health Interview Survey. Also includes access to the full National Health Interview Survey. 

• WISQARS: an online database by the CDC.  It has data on fatal and non-fatal injuries, violent death and cost of injury.    Data can be sorted on the basis of characteristics such as intent to injure, mechanism of injury, body region, geographic location, type of injury, sex, race/ethnicity and age. 

Back to Top

• statehealthfacts.org: a project supported by the Henry J Kaiser Family Foundation, a non-profit, private foundation focusing on major healthcare issues facing the United States.  This site allows you to search by state or topic and also offers a 50 state comparison feature.

• State Health Statistics: by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention.  This website carries data on nationally notifiable diseases reported by the 50 states, DC, New York City and the US territories.

• New York State Department of Health: a section of the website is devoted to statistics on topics such as diseases, community health, early intervention programs and medicaid.

• C-STATS - County and Statewide Archive of Tobacco Statistics: Created by the California Department of Health, this site provides data on topics such as smoking behavior, cessation and the health consequences of smoking.

Back to Top

• World Health Organization: has a portion of its site dedicated to statistics including topics such as mortality, health workers, immunization and tuberculosis. 

• DHS STATcompiler: supported by USAID, with additional support from UNICEF and UNAIDS.  Allows users to look at data by area of the world or by indicators such as stigma, drug use and care and support.

• Demographic and Health Surveys: nationally representative household surveys that provide data in the areas of demographics, health and nutrition. It is part of the MEASURE DHS Project which provides technical assistance for surveys on health issues.  It is funded by USAID.

• Roll Back Malaria surveys on malaria by the Roll Back Malaria Monitoring and Evaluation Reference Group.

• Malaria Indicator Survey: collections national and regional data on topics such as ownership of mosquito nets, preventative treatment, and spraying of insecticide. It is part of the MEASURE DHS Project which provides technical assistance for surveys on health issues.  It is funded by USAID.

Back to Top