Empirical Research: Social Science Statistics

General Materials

History

Politics

Sociology

Education

Data:

• Cornell's Guide to International and US Statistics Sources: social science data sources on the web.

• U.S. Census Bureau Data: data on numerous topics including poverty, housing, local employment and income.

• The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): a data archive which hosts data on 16 different topics such as crime, education, aging and substance abuse.
• Statistical Abstract of the United States: summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.  It includes data from a variety of federal agencies such as the Bureau of Labor and the Bureau of Economic Analysis up to 2011.
• Roper Center for Public Opinion Research: leading archive of data from surveys of public opinion.  Data is available from the 1930's to the present. 

• IPUMS-I: publically available individual-level census data taken from samples of censuses from around the world since 1960.

• IPUMS-USA: samples of the American population drawn from 15 censuses (1850-2000) and the American Community Surveys of 2000-2009.  Samples yield information on long-term changes in the American population.

• IPUM-CPS: an integrated set of data of the March Current Population Survey.  It includes data from 1962-2019.

• North Atlantic Population Project: a database containing census data from the UK, US, Canada, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.  The data is from censuses taken from 1850 to 1910 and support some cross-temporal analysis.

Journals:

• Social Indicators Research: publishes research dealing with the measurement of quality of life. Includes all levels such as individual, organizational, municipal, national, regional and international.  This journal is available through Fordham University Library.

Datasets:

• National Historic Geographic Information System: this website provides census and survey data from by topic, by year, or by geographic area.  The site carries data from 1790 to 2017.

• IPUMS-USA: samples of the American population drawn from 15 censuses (1850-2000) and the American Community Surveys of 2000-2009.  Samples yield information on long-term changes in the American population.

• IPUM-CPS: an integrated set of data of the March Current Population Survey.  It includes data from 1962-2019.

• North Atlantic Population Project: a database containing census data from the UK, US, Canada, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.  The data is from censuses taken from 1850 to 1910 and support some cross-temporal analysis.

Books & Journals:

• Carter, Susan B. (ed.). Historical Statistics of the United States, earliest times to the present. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. HA202 .H57 2006 (at Reference) 

• Historical Methods: publishes articles on statistical methodology, data collection and sampling procedures.  This journal is available through Fordham University Library.

Back to Top

•  Datasets from Keith Poole, professor at University of Georgia: data on voting behavior in various congresses.

• University of Michigan Surveys of Consumers: this survey includes data on how consumers view prospects for their own financial situation, how they view prospects for the general economy over the near term,
  and their view of prospects for the economy over the long term.

• The American Presidency Project: includes data on the President's relationship with Congress, popularity, public appearances and the growth of the Executive Branch.

• Judicial Elections Data Initiative: collects data on elections to state courts of last resort from 1990 to 2010.

• 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Politics and Civic Participation: survey by Pew Hispanic Center and Wiliam J. Kaiser Family Foundation.

Back to Top

• Vital Statistics Data available online: through the Center for Disease Control.  This site has downloadable data sets for manipulation.

• The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study: this longitudinal study collects information about income, work, assets, disability and physical health of people nearing or at the end of their working life.

• The University of Michigan's Panel Study of Income Dynamics: this is a longitudinal study of 9000 families, collecting data on health, economics and social behavior.

• The University of Michigan's study, Monitoring the Future: an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults.

• The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): a data archive which hosts data on 16 different topics such as crime, education, aging and substance abuse.
• Bureau of Justice Statistics: includes statistics on corrections, courts, sentencing and probation.
• United Nations Social Indicators Database database: has basic national statistics on topics such as child-bearing, contraception, health, housing and literacy.

• United Nations database on human functioning and disability: has basic data from different countries' census reports on human functioning and disability.

• American Community Survey: produced by the US Census Bureau, this survey provides ongoing data to assist communities in planning for development.  Data is gathered on topics include age, sex, income, health insurance, veteran status and disabilities. Data is available online from 2001 to 2010.

• National Survey of Latinos conducted annually since 2002 by Pew Hispanic Center.

• ATUS-X: helps researchers access information obtained through the American Time Use Survey.  The American Time Use Survey is a time diary study that collects information on how much time people spend on certain types of activities.

Back to Top

• National Center for Education Statistics: created by the US Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences, this resource contains various data on education.

• United States Education Dashboard: created by the US Department of Education. It presents indicators in 4 different areas that are critical to improving educational results.
• National Center for Analysis of Longitudinal Data in Education Research (CALDER): analyzes data on individual students and teachers over time. 
• What it's Worth: report by the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce.  Looks at Census data to explore the relationship between college majors and future earnings. 

Back to Top