Empirical Research: Crime and Criminal Justice

United States

States

Foreign & International

Datasets:

• Bureau of Justice Statistics: includes statistics on corrections, courts, sentencing and probation. 
• Court Statistics Project from the National Center for State Courts: includes information on state courts' structure and caseload.
• Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse: collects information on civil rights cases where injunctive relief is sought.

• Executions in the U.S. 1608-2002 at the Death Penalty Information Center: a dataset containing the name, age, and race of the executed person as well as the date and method of execution.

• Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics: includes data on crime, victims, public opinion, arrests, sentencing and imprisonment.

• United States Sentencing Commission: sentencing statistics from 1995.

• Crime in the United States: an annual publication in which the FBI compiles statistics on the volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, states and individual agencies.  The report also includes arrest, clearance and law enforcement employee data. Statistics from 1960 on are available.

• National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: carried datasets of crime data, as well as resource guides on particular topics such as juvenile corrections, homicide and violence again women.

• Trafficking in Persons Report: an annual report produced by the Department of State.  Reports from 2001 to 2020 are available online.  It includes country narratives and relevant international conventions.

• New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services: the "Publications" portion of this website contains reports on topics such as hate crimes, juvenile crime, mental health and missing children.  They also have a Statistics page for statistics on a variety of criminal justice topics.

Books:

• Weisburd, David Weisburd. Statistics in Criminal Justice. College Park, MD: Springer, 2007. HV7415 .W43 2007

Back to Top

• Census of State and Federal Adult Correctional Facilities: located on the Bureau of Justice Statistics website, these reports provide information on inmates, housing, security and programs. 

• Census of State Law Enforcement Agencies: located on the Bureau of Justice Statistics website, these reports provide data on state law enforcement agencies.

• Survey of State Procedures related to firearm sales: located on the Bureau of Justice Statistics website, these reports collect data about state laws, regulations and procedures related to sales of firearms.

• New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services: the "Publications" portion of this website contains reports on topics such as hate crimes, juvenile crime, mental health and missing children.  They also have a Statistics page for statistics on a variety of criminal justice topics.

• New York State Division of Probation: has statistics on probation, including employment after probation, as well as alternatives-to-incarceration programs.

Back to Top

• Crime Statistics: from the United Kingdom's Home Office.  Data exists for police force areas as well as local authorities.

• Crime and Justice in Canada: from Statistics Canada, the governmental statistics agency.  Includes surveys on crime, homicide, recidivisim, and victims of crime. 
• Crimes Statistics: statistics from the European Union, 2008-2016.

Back to Top