Skip to Main Content

Empirical Research: Labor & Employment

This guide will provide resources for empirical legal research including information on data sets and statistical packages.

Table of contents

Foreign & International

United States

Bureau of Labor Statistics: part of the US Department of Labor, this site contains data for download on a variety of topics such as inflation and prices, productivity and pay and benefits.

National Agricultural Workers Survey: survey of the domegraphic, employment and health characteristics of the US crop labor force.

Employment Research Data Center: hosted by the Upjohn Institute for Employment, this website contains older studies and reports sponsored by the US Department of Labor.

OSHA Statistics and Data: data on workplace injury and illness by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

EEOC Statistics: statistics from the US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission on topics such as litigation, equal employment and diversity in specific industries.

States

Labor Statistics: from the New York State Department of Labor, it includes data on jobs in demand, wages and unemployment.

Labor Market Information Reports: from New Jersey's Department of Labor and Workforce Employment. Includes current employment statistics and projects for industry employment.

Labor Market Information: from Connecticut's Department of Labor.

California Division of Labor Statistics: from the California Department of Industrial Relations.

Foreign & International

International Labor Organization (ILO) Statistics & Databases: site of ILO, the international organization responsible for overseeing international labor standards.

I LOSTAT: a database of labor statistics operated by the ILO. Data can be access by country or by topic such as wages, consumer price index, and strikes/lockouts.

Key Indicators of the Labor Market (KILM): produced by the ILO, KILM is a collection of 20 indicators of the labor market, from employment to characteristics of jobseekers and labor productivity. It is published every two years.

Labor Force Surveys: a website produced by the ILO which collects national Labor Force Surveys from a variety of countries.

SIMPOC (Statistical Information and Monitoring Program on Child Labor): also on the ILO website, this database provides statistics on child labor, including country briefs.