Empirical Research: Environment

United States

States

Foreign & International

• Envirofacts: an EPA that allows a user to search for data across a number of different EPA databases.  Possible topic searches include air, waste, toxics and facilities. 

• Toxic Release Inventory: an EPA program that collects data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities by certain industries.   Data exists from 1987 to 2017.

• EPA Air: another EPA site that allows users to search for data on air pollution.

• AirExplorer: a collection of EPA tools for air quality analysts.  Users can generate maps showing air pollution over time, graphs and download data for a specific time period.

• National Geophysical Data Center: a part of NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmostpheric Administration), the Center's mission is to be a repository for geophysical and environmental data.  Data is available on topics such as coastlines, snow and ice, cosmic rays and ocean drilling.

• Mineral Resource Data System: part of the USGS (United States Geological Survey) this system contains data on metallic and non-metallic mineral resources through the world. Information includes deposit name, location, commodity, production and reserves.

Back to Top

• State Minerals and Statistics Information: links to an electronic version of the USGS Minerals Yearbook (Volume II - Domestic).  Users can find statistics by state on mineral commodities.

• Water Science Directors: this USGS webpage lists the directors of various state water science centers.  Most interesting is that when you click on the state name, you are taken to a USGS page on water data for that particular state.

• Water Resources of New York: website of the USGS which has data on New York's rivers, lakes and groundwater.  Realtime as well as historical data are available.

• New York State's Department of Environmental Conservation Databases: links to databases on topics such as oil and gas wells, mining, air quality and environmental remediation.

Back to Top

• Environmental Statistics Section of the United Nations:  has data on certain environmental indicators such as air and climate, biodiversity, land and agriculture and natural disasters. There are been 5 data gatherings since 1999.  Country snapshots are included.

• OECD.StatExtract: OECD portal to a selection of OECD databases that can be accessed without subscription. Includes some data on water issues. 

• FAO Statistics Portal: statistics portal of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.  Databases exist on topics such as agriculture, water, fisheries and forestry.

• EuroStat: the data center of the European Union.  It includes datasets on environmental indicators, as well as publications.

Back to Top