Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to the Maloney Library: Reference and Research Services

Table of Contents: Reference and Research Services

Reference Desk

Requests can be made to the reference desk by phone (212-636-6908), email (refdesk@law.fordham.edu), by contacting individual librarians, or in person during regular Reference Desk hours. If you are using the Law collection in the Law Annex, ask a member of the Maloney Library staff for assistance. The Law Annex is a closed collection.

Faculty Liaison Program

Each full-time member of the Fordham Law School faculty is assigned a librarian to be their liaison to the Law Library. To determine your liaison, please visit the Faculty Liaison List. The library liaisons assist the faculty by familiarizing themselves with a faculty member's research interests and by helping the faculty member utilize all of the services the library has to offer. Any library oriented requests or questions may be directed to one’s library liaison who will handle them personally. Liaisons offer these services to the faculty:

• Serve as a guide to and advocate for library services

• Answer reference questions

• Create specialized bibliographies

• Provide current awareness materials on particular topics

• Offer classroom or seminar lectures on specialized aspects of legal research

• Design research strategies

• Advise and train research assistants

Efforts are made to keep liaison assignments stable, but changes may occur due to personnel changes in the library.  Any faculty member who wishes to be assigned a new liaison may contact the library director, Todd Melnick (212-636-7677, tmelnick@law.fordham.edu).

Locating Library Materials

The Fordham Law School Library’s online catalog is available here.  When looking at your search results, make sure to check the location of your item. Materials with location “Stacks” are held in the Maloney Library, while materials with the location “Law Annex” are held in the closed law collection at the Quinn Library.

All of the library’s subscription-based electronic holdings as well as a variety of free websites can also be accessed through the library’s Databases page available here. 

The non-law print holdings of the Quinn, the Walsh, and Westchester libraries as well as Fordham University's subscriptions to numerous on-line databases can be accessed via the Fordham University Library homepage available here.

Remote Access to Library Electronic Resources

Most of the Law Library’s electronic subscriptions and many of the Fordham University Libraries' electronic resources are available both on and off-campus.

To access one of the Law Library's databases remotely, click on the specific database link from the Library’s website. Then, enter your Username (last name) and Password (Fordham University ID number) in the authentication box.

To access Fordham University Library (non-law) databases remotely, you must use your Access IT ID and password (same password you use to access My.Fordham). For issues involving your Access IT ID and password, contact the Fordham University Help Desk (718-817-3999).