Empirical Research: Economics, Business & Finance

United States

International

Foreign - Europe

Foreign - Other

Journals

• Bankruptcy Research Database: data on all large, public bankruptcy actions filed in the United States Bankruptcy Courts since October 1, 1979.

• Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.

• Bureau of Labor Statistics: part of the Department of Labor, the Bureau of Labor Statistics has data on inflation & prices, unemployment, pay, productivity and work-place injuries.

• Stanford Securities Class Action Clearinghouse: provides detailed information relating to the prosecution, defense, and settlement of federal class action securities fraud litiation. 

• The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study: this longitudinal study collects information about income, work, assets, disability and physical health of people nearing or at the end of their working life.

• The University of Michigan's Panel Study of Income Dynamics: this is a longitudinal study of 9000 families, collecting data on health, economics and social behavior.

• University of Michigan Surveys of Consumers: this survey includes data on how consumers view prospects for their own financial situation, how they view prospects for the general economy over the near term,
  and their view of prospects for the economy over the long term.

• Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Data Download Program: allows users to download data related to Fed statistical releases.  Includes information on exchange rates, flow of funds, interest rates, household finance and industrial activity.

• Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Research Data: finance and economics working papers, including statistics.

• Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Statistics and Historical Data: data sets on a variety of topics including exchange rates, flow of funds, interest rates, household finance and industrial activity.

• Statistics of Income: available quarterly from 1981, released by the Internal Revenue Service.

• Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED): a database of over 20,000 economic time series on topics such as banking, consumer prices indexes, exchange rates and employment.  You can download data in Excel and text formats.

• Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED): allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.

Back to Top

• Bureau of Economic Analysis: has a statistics section on regional economic indicators and includes information on states and metropolitan areas. 

• Labor Statistics: from the New York State Department of Labor, it includes data on jobs in demand, wages and unemployment.

• Index of Coincident Economic Indicators: from New York State Department of Labor, this is a summary statistic that tracks the expansion/contraction of the economy. Historical data from 1970 is available.

•  Federal Reserve Bank of New York has statistics on economic activity for New York and New Jersey.

Back to Top

• Bank for International Settlements: is an international organization which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation. Its website has statistics on the global financial system including topics such as cross-border lending, securities, derivatives and foreign exchange.

• Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.

• Commodity Trade Statistics Database: United nations database containing more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962.

• Historical Data on International Merchandise Trade: United Nations statistical publication showing historical data from 1900-1960 for 22 countries.

• International Trade Statistics Yearbook: produced by the United Nations Statistics Division it includes information on the world trade of 11 different commodities.

• Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online: produced by the United Nations, this publication presents current economic and social statistics for over 200 countries.  It contains 55 tables with over 100 indicators on topics such as industrial product prices, population, price indices, and employment.

• UNCTAD Statistical Databases Online: includes databases dealing with commodity prices, foreign direct investment and the world trade in creative products.

• International Financial Statistics: part of International Monetary Fund Periodicals, this site offers national and world statistics, as well as historical data.

• World Federation of Exchanges: the trade association of 54 publicly regulated stock, futures and options exchanges.  Contains monthly, annual and time series data. 

Back to Top

• European Central Bank: the central bank for Europe's single currency, the Euro.  This website contains statistics on inflation, GDP, the unemployment rate and labor productivity, amongst other topics.

• Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.

Back to Top

• Bureau of Economic Analysis: part of the Department of Commerce, the BEA produces national economic data, regional and industry-specific data as well as international data.

• Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online: produced by the United Nations, this publication presents current economic and social statistics for over 200 countries.  It contains 55 tables with over 100 indicators on topics such as industrial product prices, populaton, price indices, and employment.

Back to Top

• The Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis publishes articles in empirical research in financial economics.  Topics include corporate finance, investments, and capital & securities markets.  You can find this journal at Fordham Law Library.

• The Journal of Legal Economics contains articles focusing on analyzing economic damages in litigation.  It is published by the American Academy of Economic and Financial Experts.

• Review of Economics and Statistics publishes articles in empirical economics.  This journal is available through Fordham University Library.

• Journal of Business and Economic Statistics: publishes articles on topics such as forecasting, data quality and policy evaluation.  This journal is available through Fordham University Library.

• Journal of Econometrics: includes papers on topics such as estimation and other methodological aspects of the application of statistical inference to economic data. This journal is available through Fordham University Library. 

Back to Top