Empirical Research: Intellectual Property

United States

Foreign & International

• USPTO Statistics page: produced by the United States Patent and Trademark Office, this site gives statistics on patents and trademarks for the fiscal year.

• Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences: contains Board statistics on caseloads and peformance.

• USPTO Reexamination Statistics: historical data exists back to 1981.

• United States Copyright Office: annual reports going back to 2000 contain statistics on some aspects of copyright. 

• Patent Data Project: includes US Patent Data from 1976-2006. Patent owner information is matched with Compustat firm identification. 

• WIPO's Intellectual Property Statistics website: created by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), the site contains statistical publications and data on national and international IP systems.

• OECD Patent Statistics: presently only contains information on patents but the OECD appears to be developing statistics on trademarks as well.

• Eurostat: the statistical office of the European Union.  This site contains data on patents.  Under "Data" select "Database" and then go to "Database by themes", click on "Science and technology" and look for "Intellectual property rights."
• CIELA: a database of information on Chinese intellectual property cases.  The database was created by Rouse, an intellectual property firm.  The database contains more than 10,000 judgments since 2006.  The database allows comparison between cities and shows rates of wins/losses, average damages sought and awarded, as well as rates of injunctions.  The data can be broken down by IP right, industry sector or court.